[Opinion] My Choice for MAMA (MNET Asian Music Awards)

MAMA is getting too much attention in Kpop these days… Below is  a summary what MAMA is about and its nominees… From Kbites Article:
Starting this year Mnet’s annual music event MKMF has been changed to Mnet Asian Music Awards (MAMA).

This new music awards ceremony was revealed during a live program that took place on October 23 in Seoul Tower. Previously on 16th October, the note “This year there will be no MKMF” was posted on Mnet’s official homepage. The change of the music ceremony was to give it a new transformation as mentioned by Mnet.

About MAMA

  • Event: 2009 MAMA
  • Date: November 21
  • Time: 7pm
  • Place: Seoul Jamsil Stadium
  • Airing: Via Channel V and will be broadcasted simultaneously in Japan, China, HongKong, Thailand, and other SEA countries.
  • Specialty: Participation by overseas artistes

Judging:

  • 29 Total categories
  • Singer category: 7
  • Genre category: 7
  • MV category: 2
  • Criteria: Album sales and album charts from 15th October 2008 till 22nd October 2009

Nominee List for 2009 MAMA:

  • Newcomer (Male) – BEAST, Supreme Team, MBLAQ, ChungRim, TaeGoon
  • Newcomer (Female) – 2NE1, After School, T-ara, 4Minute, f(x)
  • Male singer – Drunken Tiger, Rain, Lee Seung Chul, GDragon, MC Mong
  • Female singer – Bada, Baek Ji Young, Son DamBi, YoonHa, ChaeYeon
  • Male Group – 2PM, Big Bang, Super Junior, SG Wannabe, SS501
  • Female Group – Davichi, Brown Eyed Girls, So Nyeo Shi Dae, Jewelry, KARA
  • Mixed Group – Roo’Ra, 8eight, Koyote, Cool, Clazziquai
  • Rock Music Award – BuHwal (생각이나), Seo Taiji (Juliet), Jang GiHa and the Faces (Living with no special things), Cherry Filter (Pianissimo), FT Island (I Hope)
  • Hip hop group award – Dynamic Duo (Dead Guy), Drunken Tiger (Monster), LeeSsang (헤어지지 못하는 여자, 떠나가지 못하는 남자), Outsider (Alone), Epik High (Wannabe)
  • Ballad/R&B music award – Kim Jong Kook (Today More Than Yesterday), Kim TaeWoo (Love Rain), Bobby Kim (Love, the guy), Park Hyo Shin (After Love), Baek Ji Young (Like being Hit)
  • Dance music award – 2NE1 (I Don’t Care), 2PM (Again & Again), So Nyeo Shi Dae (Gee), Super Junior (Sorry), KARA (Honey)
  • House& Electronic music award – Brown Eyed Girls (Abracadabra), Son DamBi (Saturday Night), Clazziquai (Love Again), 4Minute (Muzik), GDragon (Heartbreaker)
  • Trot Music Award – Gyeon Miri (Happy Woman), Park Hyun Bin (Brilliant Life), Seong JinYoo (딱이야), Joo HyunMi and SeoHyun (JjaRaJaJjan), Hong JinYeong (Love’s Battery)
  • O.S.T Award – Baek Ji Young (Don’t Forget – IRIS), Lee Seung Chul (No more love like this – Blue Love Story), T-Max (Paradize – Boys Over Flowers), Tiffany (I’m Along – JaMyungGo), SS501 (Because I’m Stupid – Boys Over Flowers)
  • Best MV – 2NE1 (Fire), LeeSsang (헤어지지 못하는 여자, 떠나가지 못하는 남자), Bada (Mad), Seo Taiji (Juliet), D.N.G (Step 2 Me)
  • MV Director – Seo HyunSeung, Jang JaeHyuk, Jo SooHyun, Joo HeeSeon, Hong WonKi
  • Nominees: 35
  • Song awards: 30

^My Choice^

Newcomer (Male) – BEAST

***I should have chosen MBLAQ cause Thunder is there but I would be unfair to BEAST if I choose MBLAQ because of Dara’s brother. But would it be a good enough to choose them for that reason alone? My heart says it’s not… So I choose BEAST because I Love their songs especially “Mystery” and “Bad GirL”… I love Yang YoSeob and Lee Ki Kwang…I’ll update my BEAST bLog entry Later for BEAST member infos.

Newcomer (Female) – 2NE1

***2NE1 One One, their spot is Number 1. I Love Them! Need I say more? Hehehe… From their Mini-aLbum, my favorite song is “In The Club”, now don’t ask why… I just Love it… hehehe…

Male singer –GDragon

***GD may be a new soloist but he is really good… I Love his aLbum Heartbreaker, my favorite song is “Breathe”.

Female singer –Son DamBi

***Am not really familiar with the other singers but I Like Son Dambi so I voted for her.

Male Group –Big Bang

***Too bad for SS501, they were matched up with Bigbang, If they haven’t, I would like them to be my choice… I just love their song “Love Like This”..oh well…

Female Group – So Nyeo Shi Dae (GirLs Generation)

***GG or SNSD is really fitting for a girl group (they’re so girly) unless 2NE1 is matched up with them, then, of course I’ll be choosing 2NE1 as the Best Female Group.

Dance music award – 2NE1 (I Don’t Care)

***I Don’t Care eh eh eh…

House& Electronic music award –GDragon (Heartbreaker)

***Heartbreaker really fascinates every fans be it Asian or Foreigners, they just Love it.

O.S.T Award –SS501 (Because I’m Stupid – Boys Over Flowers)

***I would have chosen T-Max if they’ve chosen the song “Fight the Bad Feeling” than “Paradize” for Boys Over Flowers OST… I just Love that song very much.

Best MV – 2NE1 (Fire)

***Written, Produced and Directed(not sure) by Teddy Park… Teddy-oppa should really deserves the award below… Geez… or Best Composer Award.

MV Director – Seo HyunSeung, Jang JaeHyuk, Jo SooHyun, Joo HeeSeon, Hong WonKi

(Now, Where the hell is Park Teddy a.k.a. Park Hong Jun in here?) Teddy –oppa really deserves an award. I’ll give him the award as the Best Man in Music Industry.

As for the rest of other awards, I wouldn’t like to pick one if I’m going to be so biased. I maybe biased on my choice but I’m a YG fan and I Love Bigbang and 2NE1…

It’s my choice so please accept it. Comments are allowed but pLease don’t bash me… ^_^

Now, may I know your choice?

2 thoughts on “[Opinion] My Choice for MAMA (MNET Asian Music Awards)

Leave a Reply

